Ouiiii, I’m still here…

Image

These last few months can be summed up in two words: absolute chaos.

I’m realizing more and more that Paris life, was in fact, a fantasy. An unreal fantasy. Last year life was all about finding ways to fill my time and feeling guilty if I only cranked out a blog post or two per week. Ah, what bliss that was. Maintenant, life in Atlanta is about attempting to get enough sleep and finding a mere 30 minutes to make it to the gym or the grocery store.

This isn’t to say I don’t like it. I happen to love a more regimented schedule. While I miss the beauty of sleeping in and wandering the streets, it’s nice to wake up and feel more productive and challenged each day.

As 2014 approaches us, I’ve realized my biggest goal for the year: to rekindle my love for this blog. Of course I still love eating, exploring Atlanta’s culinary scene and writing, but certain things get in the way of enjoying it. The biggest obstacle is timing. I spend eight hours a day writing about food at work so when I walk through the door at home, the thought of whipping out my laptop, staring at the screen and cranking out more adjectives and descriptions about what I’ve eaten seems about as unappetizing as throwing on my gym clothes and working out.

BUT I’M GOING TO. I really am. I strive to find a balance and draw the line between strategic writing at work and creative, fun writing on the blog. What’s even more exciting – for me at least – is that I’ve acquired a new skill set from working.  I just have to find the time to whip out this new, little bag of planning and writing tricks.

The year will kick off with an exciting few posts as I leave for Paris tomorrow. Oui, c’est vrai – PARIS. I’m headed back for Christmas and New Year’s Eve! While I’ve been told that everything will be closed next week, I’m determined to rediscover old gems and stumble upon new ones. Stay tuned.

For now, JOYEUX NOËL et BONNE ANNÉE! …and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

