La Tarte Tropézienne

We all recognize Paris’ famed macarons, éclairs and crêpes but now I introduce you to a more unfamiliar, French pastry that I discovered last week: la tarte tropézienne. This brioche pastry is flavored with orange flower water, filled with crème pâtissière and topped with pearls of sugar. My question now is why aren’t these things more popular?

I got my first bite at the newly opened – and appropriately named – La Tarte Tropézienne, located around the corner from my (no longer) place in the 6th. The two-story boutique screams glam and when you walk inside, you’re greeted with a glass case full of every imaginable size of the confection. And unlike most pâtisseries, La Tarte Tropézienne features indoor and outdoor seating. On my visit, I plopped down en plein air and was served my dessert. I can’t think of a better way to spend one of my last afternoons in Paris.

IMG_7644 IMG_7645 IMG_7646 IMG_7647La Tarte Tropézienne, 3 rue Montfaucon, 6th

M: Mabillon

 

Leave a Reply

