Marché Raspail

Just a hop, skip and jump away from my apartment, on the corner of Boulevard Raspail and Rue de Rennes, is the widely popular and laid back, Marché Raspail. I’m guilty again for ignoring the beautiful, open-air markets around Paris but I’m learning my lesson this summer and tackling as many as possible while I still can.

On Tuesday and Friday mornings, you will find the stalls full of traditional produce and goods – and sometimes the delicious Cantine California food truck! I chose to explore the special organic market, or marché biologique, set up every Sunday morning. I’m not an organic bible beater by any means, but when I have the option to choose bio, I usually try to.

I don’t know if it was my imagination or not, but everything lining the stalls at the organic market looked much more tantalizing then the frumpy produce aisle at the grocery store. It was also nice to see local vendors selling prepared organic food such as stuffed olives, bread, pastries, wine and dried fruit. The sun was shining bright, a free Sunday afternoon was ahead of me, and I got to pack my bag full of fresh, organic cherries and peaches. Life was (and always is) good.

IMG_7387 IMG_7388 IMG_7389 IMG_7390 IMG_7391 IMG_7392 IMG_7393 IMG_7394 IMG_7395 IMG_7396 IMG_7397 IMG_7399 IMG_7400 IMG_7401 IMG_7403Marché Raspail, Tuesday + Friday from 7 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Marché Biologique, Sunday from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

M: Rennes

 

Leave a Reply

