Back to Corsica

I’m incredibly blessed to travel to Corsica not only once, but four times during my stay in France. When I’m visiting the French island, I get the best of both worlds: mountains and sea. As the most mountainous Mediterranean island, Corsica features picturesque ridges and deep valleys and farmland. As you make your way down the steep hills, you’re greeted by pristine white sandy beaches and clear Mediterranean water – like the Plage de Saint-Cyprien and Plage de Palmonbaggia in Porto-Vecchio.

This unique geography has shaped traditional Corsican cuisine and agriculture. The country is proud of its production in meat, cheeses and produce, which are always dubbed with a “produits Corses” label. Since I’m all about the markets these days, I’ve found heaven in Corse-du-Sud with fresh summer vegetables, fruits, cheeses and poultry straight from local farms. A highlight of my visit last week was visiting a road-side stand and épicerie, Chez Eva, located near Plage de Saint-Cyprien. It was full of local products and prepared goods, from watermelon to wine.

While I still have many signature Corsican dishes to try, I can’t get enough of it’s other goods like Brocciu sheep’s milk cheese, rosé wine and island fruits. Here’s a glimpse of my time spent in Porto-Vecchio last week…

IMG_1683 IMG_1685 IMG_1689 IMG_1690 IMG_1692

IMG_7267 IMG_7268 IMG_7271 IMG_7273 IMG_7274 IMG_7293 IMG_7294 IMG_7295 IMG_7296 IMG_7297 IMG_7298 IMG_7299 IMG_7300 IMG_7301 IMG_7303 IMG_7305 IMG_7306 IMG_7307 IMG_7313

Leave a Reply

