Marché Bastille

I have a confession to make fellow Parisian friends… After a year of living in this city, I just went to the Marché Bastille for the first time last weekend. [Gasp.]

I know, I know, I’m a hypocrite with all my talk about loving markets in Budapest, London and beyond. How on earth it took me so long to shlep over to the 11th arrondissement on a Sunday afternoon is beyond me, but folks, I finally did. And it was incroyable!

My Bastille market adventure started with lunch from a Lebanese stall. The exotic Middle Eastern smells, vibrant colors and piles of pita bread reeled me in and I chose a vegetarian shawarma to nibble on as we browsed the endless produce, flowers, meat, cheese, prepared food and goods that the market has to offer.

Strolling through the market rows really reinforced how important and easy it is to buy fresh, local products. Why go the grocery store multiple times a week when you can gather everything you need while taking in the fresh air, people watching and coming face-to-face with farmers and vendors? From now on – even when I’m back in Atlanta – I’m going to strive to buy most of my produce from markets.

IMG_1653 IMG_1654 IMG_1655 IMG_1656 IMG_1657 IMG_1662 IMG_1663 IMG_1664 IMG_1665 IMG_1666 IMG_1667 IMG_1668 IMG_1669 IMG_1673 IMG_1674Marché Bastille, Boulevard Richard Lenoir, 11th

Hours: Thursday 7 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.; Saturday 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.; Sunday 7 a.m. – 3 p.m.

2 thoughts on “Marché Bastille

  1. It makes me smile that you are writing about the Marché Bastille! When Lisa Stapleton Weldon and I visted Paris last September our apartment was just about three blocks from the Bastille, and we visited the market twice a week for most of our food needs. And we greatly overbought because everywhere was so gorgeous! Another of our favorite markets was at Place d’Aligre on Saturday morning. Be sure to give it a try if you can!

    I am enjoying following your blog. You make me want to go back.

  2. Pingback: Marché Raspail | pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

