L’Office

When visitors are in town, I know I’m going to eat well and try new places. While my brother and sister-in-laws were in town, we made a last-minute dinner reservation at L’Office, a place I’ve been dying to try for months.

The restaurant offers a rotating menu of three starters, main courses and dessert. I’m so familiar with the limited menu concept in Europe now that I forgot it isn’t as popular back home. In my opinion, this style guarantees quality, fresh ingredients. With the farm-to-table, locally driven restaurant trend back in the states, I think this way of dining would be a huge hit.

Between the four of us, we were able to get a taste of each starter and main (listed below) on the menu that night. The chef was also accommodating to Heather, a vegetarian, who requested two starters instead of a starter and main course.

Starters

  • Risotto, beets, Burrata
  • White asparagus, egg, kadaif
  • Tomato, avocado, mackerel gazpacho

Main Courses

  • Pollock, miso, asparagus
  • Corn flake-crusted chicken, seasonal vegetables
  • Beef, peppers, fava beans

Let me just say that my choices at L’Office blew my mind. The white asparagus with kadaif-covered poached egg seemed strange to me at first but turned out to be delicious. Kadaif is a thread-like pastry that added great texture to the starter. Après, the corn flake-crusted chicken came out. Who knew that America’s favorite cereal could be used to fry chicken? Each bite was crispy and sweet when dipped in the Thai curry-like sauce. Welcome to my list of favorite dishes, corn-flake fried chicken. 

Even though the service was a bit slow, we left L’Office feeling full and happy. It offered an intimate feel and beautifully prepared dishes. I only wish everyone could be so lucky as to try the cornflake-fried chicken during their visit…

IMG_6576 IMG_6578 IMG_6582 IMG_6583 IMG_6584 IMG_6585 IMG_6587 IMG_6588 IMG_6591 IMG_6593 IMG_6598L’Office, 3 Rue Richer (9th), M: Bonne Nouvelle

 

One thought on “L’Office

  1. Pingback: 10 Best Things I Ate in 2013 | pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

