Prague Eats

I had the pleasure of visiting my friend, Kacey, last week in Prague for a few days. In between snapping pictures of the popular Charles Bridge, Prague Castle and Old Town Square, I experienced the best of local food and beer. Since it was Kacey’s last week in town, I tagged along to all of her “bucket list” stops, which gave me a true local experience while visiting Prague. Below is a play-by-play of my amazing trip, full of recommendations if you’re planning to visit.

Picnic at Letná Park

Within an hour of arriving to Prague, I was loving every minute. Kacey and I grabbed Indian food to-go from Bhojan and headed to nearby Letná Park for a picnic dinner overlooking the city. With two Pilsners and styrofoam boxes filled with curried cauliflower and potatoes, panir and chickpeas, black lentils and black eye beans, we plopped down at a table and took in the view of Old Town. I couldn’t imagine a better start to my trip…free wifi included!

IMG_6056 IMG_6057 IMG_6063 IMG_6065 IMG_6067 IMG_6073 IMG_6077

Street Food in Old Town Square

While visiting Prague’s famous Old Town Square – home to Tyn Church and St. Nicholas Church – I grew nostalgic for Düsseldorf when I got a glimpse of the food stalls. Kacey gave me a quick rundown of our street lunch options – sausage, bratwurst, kebabs, cabbage, etc. We decided on chicken kebabs, grabbed a bench in the park and enjoyed a quick lunch on-the-go. To satisfy my sweet tooth, I tried trdelník, a cylindrical sweet pastry topped with cinnamon. Cinnamon lovers, rejoice!

IMG_6089 IMG_6090 IMG_6091 IMG_6092 IMG_6096 IMG_6098 IMG_6100 IMG_6102

Beers at Zahrádka u Kristiána

The cobblestone streets of Prague did a number on my feet during my visit. On my first day, after walking for a bit, we decided it was time to sit down and take a break. Kacey knew just the place – a local beer garden by the river, located just steps away from the Charles Bridge. We clinked Staropramen beers, sprawled out at a table and took in the surprisingly sunny weather. The two hours we spent relaxing at Zahrádka were the most memorable of the trip.

IMG_6119 IMG_6120

Czech Cuisine

I couldn’t leave Prague without sampling some local Czech cuisine. Kacey took me to Ungelt, a local jazz bar and restaurant to get my fix. I ordered goulash and bread dumplings, a historically Hungarian dish that is also very popular in central European cultures. This is probably the first time on my blog that I’m not raving about my meal. While I’m happy I tried it, goulash is a bit too starchy and meaty for my taste.

IMG_6145 IMG_6146

Vegetarian Lunch at Lehká hlava

It may seem ironic to dine at a vegetarian restaurant while visiting a true meat-lovers country, but we did. And boy am I happy about it. Lehká hlava, or “Clear Head” is located in an old building, hidden by the river. We started with sun-dried tomato and peanut pesto and bread. After debating the menu options over and over again, I decided on a homemade lemonade with fresh mint and grilled goat cheese with walnuts, served on potatoes au gratin and steamed spinach leaves. Kacey had the Thai red curry with tofu and spring vegetables. We left feeling light, happy and fully recovered from our meat-heavy dinner the night before.

IMG_6148 IMG_6151 IMG_6153 IMG_6154 IMG_6155 IMG_6156 IMG_6158

Teatime at Peklo, nebe, ráj

One of the best parts of visiting friends in other cities is that you get to experience off-the-beaten path places. On my last afternoon in Prague, Kacey took me to her local teahouse/hookah lounge, Peklo, for tea, wifi and relaxing. While I sipped on green tea, Kacey ordered a Sahlep, a thick, hot Arabian energy drink with cinnamon. It was nice to see Czech people in their natural element, tucked away from the tourist traps having tea with friends.

IMG_6171 IMG_6173

One thought on “Prague Eats

  1. Pingback: Budapest Eats | pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

