Homemade French Crêpes

Crêpes may seem a bit cliché when it comes to French culture, but I’ve recently learned first-hand how popular they actually are inside of French homes.

True story: I’ve made crêpes four times in the last 10 days.

The first batch was on February 2nd, otherwise known in France as La Chandeleur. Originally Virgin Mary’s Blessing Day, the day has now been dubbed “National Crêpe Day”, a day unforgotten by the French, particularly kids. The second time was last Wednesday when my French family’s grandmother came to visit for the afternoon. While many Americans have fond memories of baking a cake or pie with grandma, French children delight in the art of crêpe making avec Mamie. Yesterday, I found myself by the stove with the crêpe pan, cranking out a pile of them for the kids to take to school today, which brings me to Mardi Gras. Crêpes are an important part of celebrating the last day of Carnaval and I will be back in the kitchen this afternoon whipping them up pour les enfants. 

The thin pancakes are fun and easy to make. Below is a traditional French recipe found in the cookbook, Les Recettes Faciles de Françoise Bernard, written by the famous 1960s cook who aimed to supply the modern French woman with easy, straight-forward recipes for classic dishes.

IMG_4643

Crêpes (according to Françoise Bernard)

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup (150 g) flour 
  • 2 eggs
  • 2.5 cups milk
  • 3 tbsp (40 g) softened (or melted) butter
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Whisk together all ingredients in a mixing bowl until smooth.
  2. Heat a crêpe pan on the stove. Grease the pan with butter or oil.
  3. Using a medium-sized ladle, spoon approximately 1/3 cup of batter onto pan and quickly spread around pan to cover bottom.
  4. Cook the crêpe on medium heat for a few minutes and then flip over for an additional minute.
  5. Smother with your favorite topping such as Nutella, jam or sugar and fold as you wish.
  6. Bon appétit!

Here’s a look back at some delicious crêpe pictures I found on my computer…

Nothing most enjoyable than a roadside crêpe in Paris!

Nothing most enjoyable than a roadside crêpe in Paris!

Modeling my first crêpe back in Paris

Modeling my first crêpe back in Paris

My parents enjoying crêpes while visiting Paris

My parents enjoying crêpes while visiting Paris

My favorite: strawberries + Nutella

My favorite: strawberries + Nutella

Leave a Reply

