The Optimist

My most important food mission while home in Atlanta over the holidays was to eat at The Optimist.

Since its opening last summer (2012), the modern fish camp has earned a spot at the top of Atlanta’s dining scene. I remember spotting the place on my way to work in June before it opened. The aged, cream brick exterior intrigued me. Through my car window I would try to steal peeps of the beautifully designed interior and unusual outdoor putting green. If only I had booked a reservation then, I could’ve tried it out before leaving for Paris.

Alas, I returned to Atlanta ready to splurge on a meal at The Optimist and see for myself what all the fuss is about. I met my friend Christie, who had previously dined there, for lunch one afternoon. I’m extremely grateful for her Optimist expertise as she suggested some of the menu’s best items. I think the pictures tell a better story than I ever could about our meal…

East coast oysters on ice with fresh horseradish and mignonette

East coast oysters on ice with fresh horseradish and mignonette

Whole GA white shrimp a la plancha with "sopping" toast, arbol chile, lime

Whole GA white shrimp a la plancha with “sopping” toast, arbol chile, lime

IMG_1127 IMG_1128

Sabelfish with butternut squash purée and roasted brussel sprouts

Sabelfish with butternut squash purée and roasted brussel sprouts

IMG_1130

Maine lobster roll with a side of "beignet style" cornmilk hushpuppies with cane syrup butter

Maine lobster roll with a side of “beignet style” cornmilk hushpuppies with cane syrup butter

IMG_1132 IMG_1133 IMG_1134 IMG_1135 IMG_1136 IMG_1137

Well Atlanta food writers and foodies, y’all were right…The Optimist is amazing and (I think) worth the pretty pennies I spent for lunch.

The Optimist, 914 Howell Mill Road, Atlanta

One thought on “The Optimist

  1. Pingback: Atlanta Highlights « pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

