Korean in Paris at Dawa

With so many Paris-based travel and food bloggers out there, I was happy when a few weeks ago, one commented on a post and asked to grab a meal. Thanks to Edna (creator of Expat Edna), I’m inspired to reach out to other bloggers who share similar interests as me because it’s a great way to get to know new people and network in the blogosphere.

Edna suggested having lunch at Dawa, a Korean place that a friend had recommended to her in the 15th. She brought along her friend and fellow blogger, Ashley (creator of Ashley Abroad). Together we Americans feasted on delicious and very authentic Korean food while getting to know one another. Each of us came to Paris with different agendas so it was exciting to hear about everyone’s path to the City of Lights while bonding over our mutual passion for travel and food.

Ashley + Edna outside of Dawa

Ashley + Edna outside of Dawa

You know you’ve chosen a good place to eat when you’re surrounded by a loyal crowd. We were seated next to a group of Korean women sharing plate after plate of steaming food. Watching them pass around platters, laugh with one another and dig into the food with smiles on their faces made me feel like I was about to get a taste out of a true, delicious Korean meal.

IMG_1049 IMG_1050

Ashley and I, both unfamiliar with Korean cuisine, opted for the Bento Box au Boeuf. For 13 euros, it’s a feast full of white rice, beef and mushroom Korean barbecue, kimchi, potatoes and tempura vegetables. Even though it was delicious, I was jealous of Edna’s expertise when her lunch came to the table. She ordered Bibimbap, a steaming bowl of rice, vegetables and kimchi. While we waited for our lunch, several traditional small plates of vegetables, salad and noodles were brought to our table for sharing. We finished off our delicious meal with a plate of lychee for dessert. I had never given the popular Asian fruit a try, but I’m glad I did – it was perfectly sweet and refreshing.

Green tea

Genmaicha green tea – green tea steeped with rice.

Bento Box au Boeuf

Bento Box au Boeuf

Close-up of kimchi, potatoes and tofu

Close-up of kimchi, potatoes and tofu

Closeup of beef and mushrooms

Closeup of beef and mushrooms

Closeup of tempura vegetables and sauce

Closeup of tempura vegetables and sauce

(Small plates)

Small plates

Edna's...

Edna’s Bibimbap

Edna's...

Bibimbap

Lychee for dessert

Lychee for dessert

I had no doubt I would love Korean food since I’m a Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisine freak. If you’re looking for a casual and authentic Korean spot in Paris, definitely check out Dawa. If you aren’t in the area, go find a Korean restaurant near you.

Dawa, 5 Rue Humblot, Paris (15th)

2 thoughts on “Korean in Paris at Dawa

  1. Ah Asian food! I’ve never had Korean but this is one of the few cuisine’s you’ve written about lately that I think my tummy could handle right now. I’m going to have a lot of adjusting to do when I’m back in the West.

Leave a Reply

