Le Miroir

My friend Sarah is the biggest Francophile I know. She loves every tidbit of Parisian culture, art and history. For her birthday, we celebrated in true Parisian fashion by eating dinner at the classic upscale bistro, Le Miroir in Montmartre.

Typically you’ll find an older crowd at the more bistro-y places in Paris, but not at Le Miroir. We were surrounded by hip tables of 20- and 30-somethings. The restaurant features classic bistro design accents with red walls and red leather booths and modern touches of contemporary artwork and bright light fixtures. From looking at it, you wouldn’t think the food would cost you too much, but in fact the prix fixe menu runs about 35 euro. But as I’ve learned in the last few months, that’s not that much.

Between the five of us, we split several bottles of wine and ordered an array of French dishes. The birthday girl was très chic ordering Foie Gras de Canard  (duck liver for those unfamiliar) and Tarte Fine aux Champignons et Chorizo (mushroom and chorizo sausage tart). I chose the Pavé de Cabillaud with courgettes (cod filet with zucchini) as my plat and the Sablé aux Pommes (baked apples, shortbread and caramel) as dessert. The white fish was light, which left me with plenty of room for something sweet. Lainie went in blind and ordered the Chou Farci au Perdreau (cabbage-stuffed partridge). None of us knew what that meant until just now (as I’m writing this). Mackenzie and Megan both opted for the Roti de Volaille Farci (stuffed roast chicken). All in all, delicious meal.

Foie Gras de Canard

Foie Gras de Canard

Tarte Fine Champignons + Chorizo

Tarte Fine Champignons + Chorizo

Roti de Volaille Farci

Roti de Volaille Farci

Pavé de Cabillaud + courgettes

Pavé de Cabillaud + courgettes

Chou Farci au Perdreau

Chou Farci au Perdreau

Sablé aux Pommes

Sablé aux Pommes

IMG_1036

I recommend Le Miroir for those looking for a more modern and upbeat French bistro experience while visiting Paris. Compared to other good restaurants, the prices are reasonable. And where there’s a constantly replenished bread basket (bottomless bread basket?), it gets an A+ in my book.

Le Miroir, 94 Rue des Martyrs (18th)

2 thoughts on “Le Miroir

  1. Reblogged this on Une Fille in Paris and commented:
    Apologies in advance, everyone. This week I’m going to be LAZY. On top of my normal responsibilities, I’ve been lately consumed with holiday shopping, trip planning, and finding ways to keep warm. So forgive me – I had no time to brainstorm + write a post. Thankfully, my good friend Caroline recently blogged about the restaurant where we dined for my birthday several weeks ago for her wonderful food site Pamplemousse. If I have anything to add it’s that sometimes it takes a birthday to make a girl realize how truly grateful she is: my life is currently filled with some of the most amazing and caring people. Lucky me! So read on about my delectable 23rd birthday dinner…

Leave a Reply

