Roasted Pumpkin + Sweet Potato Soup

Pumpkin is a new thing for me. For years, I saw it solely as a Halloween decoration not to be eaten. Over the last year, however, Pinterest gave me reason to fall in love with it. From September to December, every recipe board I see seems to be smothered with pumpkin-this and pumpkin-that.

After spotting pre-sliced potiron (one of the few French words for “pumpkin”) at the grocery store, I decided to take a whack at a pumpkin recipe. With Paris’ frigid temperatures recently, I thought pumpkin soup would be a perfect dinner one night for the girls. After browsing several recipes online, I borrowed some ideas and created my own version. Most of my inspiration came from a recipe I found on the blog, Eat, Little Bird.

IMG_4193 IMG_4194

Roasted Pumpkin + Sweet Potato Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium sweet potatoes
  • 1 kilo of pumpkin (1 pre-sliced size)
  • Pinch of Cinnamon
  • Pinch of Nutmeg
  • 1 liter of vegetable broth
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees C.
  2. Cut the pumpkin and sweet potato into 2-inch chunks and arrange in a roasting pan.
  3. Toss the pumpkin and sweet potato with olive oil, nutmeg and cinnamon. (Note: I only had a cinnamon stick, so threw two into the pan and moved around while roasting).
  4. Roast the vegetables in the oven for approximately one hour.
  5. While vegetables are roasting, prepare vegetable broth in a large pot (I used vegetable bouillon cubes).
  6. When vegetables are roasted, add them to the pot of broth. Use a mixer to combine ingredients into a soup-like texture. (If you have a food processor, the vegetables can be combined there and then added to the broth).
  7. Serve hot with slices of fresh baguette.
Leave a Reply

