Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

A part of my job is to be able to perform mom duties at the drop of a hat.

Case in point: last Thursday, I was informed that I needed to bake homemade cookies for the school picnic. I was overcome by panic when I heard the word homemade and realized that the Pillsbury doughboy is only available back in the states for this type of emergency.

After frantically Googling cookie recipes, I realized that American recipes were off the table as measurement conversions and access to ingredients posed serious problems. Thankfully, the girls had shown me a Nutella cookbook in their kitchen days before, so I promptly opened it up to see what I could find. After flipping through the little book, I finally came across a basic Nutella chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Then I started to see foreign words and measurement terms and again was overcome with stress. The girls helped me figure out what needed to be purchased at the grocery store. This recipe is not something I’d recommend to my American friends. It involves special European baking ingredients that I’ve never seen at home like un sachet de sucre vanillé. If you’re back in the states and want to try it, I’d recommend taking your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe and simply adding some melted Nutella to the mix. It’s that easy.

For my fellow Frenchies, Euro-travelers & natives, here you go…

Cookies au Chocolat et au Nutella

Ingredients:

  • 250 g flour
  • 1/2 sachet de lavure
  • 125 g white sugar
  • 125 g brown sugar
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 100 g butter
  • 50 g Nutella
  • 1 egg
  • 1 sachet de sucre vanille
  • 100 g chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 240 degrees C.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Melt butter and Nutella together in a small bowl (I used the microwave; the recipe suggests a bain-marie or double-boiler).
  4. Add the egg and melted butter/Nutella mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well into a dough. Add chocolate chips to the dough. If possible, refrigerate the dough for 1 hour.
  5. Make 5 cm. balls out of the dough and place on a cookie sheet spaced out.
  6. Bake in over for 8 to 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

