Quiche Lorraine, anybody?

One of my biggest responsibilities as an au pair is to prepare dinner for the girls on weeknights. Since I’ve been learning the ropes and adjusting to their eating preferences, I’m slowly gaining more of a creative license in the kitchen. I was able to do some of the grocery shopping last week, which meant I had some reign over what we would be eating. Thanks to Sarah’s suggestion, I decided to make quiche.

I didn’t have to purchase anything special to make Quiche Lorraine, except replenish the family’s cheese drawer. I wasn’t necessarily a quiche “lover” or “connoisseur” so I had to scratch my head for a few minutes to realize what was in the thing. I was nervous to run my idea by the girls’ mom, fearing that since she is French, is probably a quiche making pro. She was excited to hear my suggestion and thankfully (for my own sanity purposes) didn’t oversee my recipe or technique.

What’s a girl to do last minute with only an iPhone in hand? Why Google “Quiche Lorraine recipe” of course! And voilà, I found the simplest version (thank you, recipes.com!) and got cooking. For those of you who so choose to attempt this recipe, be mindful that I altered it according to my own judgment along the way so feel free to do the same. Do know that it came out ridiculously good and the girls ate it up in one swoop. If they like something, you’ll LOVE it.

My Quiche Lorraine

“Carrot’s” Quiche Lorraine

Ingredients:

  • 1 pastry dough for 9 in. pie dish
  • 1/2 cup of minced bacon
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded Emmental cheese (Swiss)
  • 1/3 cup minced onion
  • 5 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups cream
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. sugar
  • Pinch of pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Lay out pastry dough in pie dish and brush with egg white mixture. Place in oven for 10-15 minutes until the shell crisps a bit.
  2. Place bacon and onions in large skillet and fry over medium-high heat until cooked through. Drain on paper towels.
  3. When pie dish is out of oven, sprinkle bacon, onion and cheese into pastry shell.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, cream, salt, sugar and pepper. Pour mixture into pastry shell.
  5. Bake 5-10 minutes in preheated oven. Reduce heat to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) and bake an additional 15-20 minutes or until inserted knife comes out clean. Pay close attention.
  6. Let quiche sit for 10-15 minutes until served. Cut into wedges and serve with salad.
Leave a Reply

