Sublime dans la Corse

Tonight is my last night in Corsica. The last four days have been quite an adventure…to say the least. Joining my new au pair family on this beautiful island was the perfect way to get to know the girls and learn their family dynamic.

When on vacation with my family, we’re lazy. Days usually repeat themselves in the same order: wake up, eat, lay out, eat again, swim, shower, eat again and sleep with some television and more eating in between. Said pattern of laziness was shattered this week.

Instead, we abided a strict eating schedule (breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner) and did everything but watch TV and lay out. When we weren’t enjoying a delicious meal or goût, the girls and I were swimming, jumping on the trampoline, playing games and chasing after kittens. Just TRY to beat me in Corsican War, BS, Old Maid, Labyrinth or Speed after I’ve played well over 100 games in the past three days…I dare you. 

Around 3 p.m. each day, we would venture from the house for an activity. On Tuesday, we headed to the shore to go boating. The girls wake boarded and tubed while I sat back and took it all in. Never have I been in more beautiful water. I’ve been staring at the screen for an hour trying to find words to describe just how beautiful Corsica is. I guess to sum it up, I overheard a family friend reflect on our day as “sublime” pronounced, sub-leem. And it was.

 

The next day, we met up with family friends and drove into the mountains to a river. I whipped out my good ol’ NOLS skills (3 years late) as I spent most of my time chasing after the 6-year-old across boulders and rocks along the river…barefoot. Talk about nerve-racking – I gasped every time she skipped along fearing her falling. Shame on me for forgetting my camera on this trek, because it may have been more beautiful than the ocean.

As sad as I am to say goodbye to this beautiful place, I’m eager to return to Paris and settle into my new life. And as much as I love my lazy Plyler vacations, being immersed in the outdoors all week has truly been revitalizing. Simply eating our meals outside and sleeping with the windows open has brought so much joy to my days. While I don’t appreciate the mosquitoes, the cool, fresh air has rocked me to sleep like a baby each night. In addition, replacing TV time with games and adventures has been a bonding experience and much needed retreat from technology.

So now onto sirens outside of my window and sweet pollution in the air…ooh la la!

Leave a Reply

