The Peachtree Road Farmer’s Market

I don’t know what planet I’ve been living on for the past 22 years to only now discover the Peachtree Road Farmer’s Market. I guess I didn’t develop a passion for outdoor markets until last summer in NYC. From food to antiques, I loved nothing more than browsing the many weekend markets all over the city.

Now, right outside of my sister’s front door, I’ve found my Saturday market on Peachtree. It is so great to see local farmers and vendors in Georgia come together every week to sell fresh, locally-grown and -made products. Here’s a list of what I’ve tried so far, and I’ll add to it as the summer continues…

  • Creperie. As cliche as it may be, as a Francophile, I love crepes. What I’ve learned to love even more is an American spin on the French pancakes. Three words: bacon, egg and cheese. I usually like it on a bagel or in a biscuit, but thanks to the local creperie at the market, I can now enjoy it rolled up in a crepe. If you’ve got a sweet tooth, try everyone’s favorite Nutella and strawberry crepe.

Creperie stand

Goat’s Florentine Crepe

Nutella & Strawberry Crepe

Bacon, Egg & Cheese Crepe

  • Farm BurgerJust as the froyo and cupcake phase has come and continues to grow, America’s new favorite craze has got to be burgers. Just in Atlanta, I’ve seen several, popular hamburger joints springing up. One of my favorites has go to be Farm Burger. My sister and I got 100% grassfed beef sliders topped with goat cheese and veggies. Seriously SO GOOD – and they have two locations in Atlanta!

Farm Burger Tent

Market Burger (goat cheese, veggies, 100% grassfed beef)

  • Coffee. After a night on the town and the sun shining bright at the market, iced coffee is clutch. Locally roasted, fair trade, shade grown and organic, coffee from Batdorf & Bronson Coffee Roasters was delicious and refreshing to the last sip.
  • Yogurt. I love yogurt. I especially love Greek yogurt. No surprise that I feel in love with Atlanta Fresh Artisan Creamery‘s Peach and Ginger yogurt. The price tag may be a little steep, but it’s healthy, locally-made and better yet, yummy.

Atlanta Fresh Greek Yogurt (courtesy of: ga.naturesgardendelivered.com)

  • Popsicles. If you’ve been to Atlanta recently, you’ve probably seen the King of Pops cart on street corners and at the food truck park. Well, if you haven’t tried one of their refreshing ice pops, you can at the farmer’s market!

King of Pops menu

The kids waiting on their pops!

One thought on “The Peachtree Road Farmer’s Market

  1. Pingback: Yeah! Burger « pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

