Big Ed’s City Market in Raleigh

After splurging at Poole’s Diner the night before, we decided to find something a bit cheaper for breakfast. I think I can speak for everyone in the world when I say that after a night of debauchery, all one craves is grease on grease on grease. If you’re more of a detox, run-off-the-hangover type, god bless you. This food adventure was put into Will’s hands, and he came out on top. His choice for Sunday brunch? Big Ed’s City Market.

Think Cracker Barrel, but more authentic. Decorations hanging in every corner, red-checkered table cloths and a dedicated staff. Luckily, we scooted into Big Ed’s just in time. The air conditioning unit wasn’t working and they were closing early so we were one of the last groups to be seated. Even though I was drenched in sweat from the North Carolina heat, somehow it felt cool in the restaurant.

The menu was full of country breakfast favorites. I was in search of simple comfort food and got a Bacon, Egg and Cheese Biscuit. It’s hard to screw up an order like that, but Big Ed’s knocked it out of the park. I was particularly amazed by the fluffy, buttery quality of their biscuit. Needless to say, I was cured with just one bite!

Bacon, Egg & Cheese Biscuit

I also kept it simple with my side item of Grits with butter. It’s pretty safe to say that Big Ed’s loves butter. I mean, look at that pond of buttery goodness atop my delicious bowl of grits…

Grits with butter (can you tell?)

Did I mention the location? Big Ed’s is located in the Historic City Market district of downtown Raleigh. It is the most charming place to walk around and browse cute shops, restaurants and bars. If you stumble upon these cobblestone streets, don’t think twice to get your country cookin’ fix at Big Ed’s.

Big Ed’s City Market, 220 Wolfe St., Raleigh, NC 27601

 

One thought on “Big Ed’s City Market in Raleigh

Leave a Reply

