Cooking Channel Summer Eats Pop-Up Tour

One of the many things I love about my internship this summer is that I’m constantly tuned into the Atlanta culinary world. From events that our own clients are throwing, to blurbs on Eater.com (which I read religiously), I’m pretty much always in the know about food around this town.

Usually when I’m browsing local food blogs and publications, I come across events that require lots of moo-lah to attend. So when I stumbled upon the Cooking Channel’s Summer Eats Pop-Up Tour on the Westside (my favorite neighborhood) and saw the word “free” attached to the event, my heart melted. With two friends on my arm, we went to check out this questionably “free” event at Abattoir.

Great atmosphere. Check. Free food. Check. Free beer and wine. Check. Live music. Check. I had to pinch myself when we found a seat on the covered porch (away from the rain) and were graced with fun table-mates, a delicious menu and unlimited beer.

Here’s a rundown of the menu:

  • *Pulled Pork Sandwich Sliders (cider-braised shoulder on a soft bun with coleslaw and vinegar sauce)
  • Grilled Corn on the Cob (rubbed with paprika and chipotle-spiced butter)
  • Fried Catfish (with a crisp cornmeal coating, served with tartar sauce)
  • *Shrimp & Grits (crispy Georgia shrimp and white grits served with tikka masala and cilantro chutney)
  • *Mini Georgia Peach Pies (a classic pie with traditional butter crust)
  • Red Velvet Cupcakes (with mascarpone frosting)

*My favorites

In addition to the delicious, free food was complimentary beer from Sweetwater Brewery (love my Sweetwater Blue) and wine from the Food Network. Live music, a pop-up photo booth and guest appearances by Eden Grinshpan from Eden Eats and G. Garvin from Roadtrip with G. Garvin (who I never saw) topped off the event. Although the service was a tad slow, we had an amazing time catching up, chowing down and throwing back some brews. My friend Christie even said at the end of the evening that it was by far one of the best nights she’d had this summer in Atlanta. Boom. Roasted. It was awesome.

Entrance to the event

On our way up to Abattoir

Cheers!

Free beers from Sweetwater Brewery

Red Velvet Cupcake with Mascarpone Frosting

Fried Catfish with tartar sauce and Shrimp & Grits with tikka masala and cilantro chutney

Pulled Pork Sandwich with coleslaw and vinegar sauce

Grilled Corn on the Cob rubbed with paprika and chipotle-spiced butter

Demolished food

Inside of Abattoir at the event

2 thoughts on “Cooking Channel Summer Eats Pop-Up Tour

Leave a Reply

