BBQ Heaven at Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q

This past week I graduated from Elon and began my dream internship for the summer at Green Olive Media.

Public relations + food = happy job.

My first day was everything I dreamed it would be…I got acquainted with my co-workers, settled into my new desk and enjoyed food from Green Olive’s “noms” list of clients. At 10am, mini pork and kimchi tacos from Taqueria del Sol were handed out in the office and then around noon, five of us went to Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q for lunch.

It was perfect timing for Fox Bros. as I had just clipped an article that named the restaurant the 4th best pulled pork in the nation before we left. I felt like an Atlanta food idiot because I was unfamiliar with the place. As we walked in and sat down, however, I knew Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q and I would become great friends. It feels like your typical, all-American smokehouse, packed with locals and regulars and intoxicating smells of BBQ, but the flavors set the restaurant apart from other barbecue joints.

First, we ordered a basket of fried pickles and jalapeños as an appetizer. It was questionable whether or not the pickles were put into the basket, but the jalapeños alone offered the perfect balance of fried and spicy. I dipped them one by one into ranch and found it merely impossible to stop.

Fried jalapeños at Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q

Since it had received such a high rating, the pulled pork was on my radar for lunch so I ordered the pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw and macaroni and cheese. Until I bit into this sandwich, all other pulled pork sandwiches tasted the same. This one actually changed my life. I could taste the smoky flavor in the meat, the bun was perfectly toasted and the coleslaw was just right. My only complaint? The pickles. I just don’t like pickles.

Pulled pork sandwich from Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q

You better come to Fox Bros. with an appetite because this sandwich is HUGE. I could barely finish half of mine, so keep that in mind before you overdose in fried jalapeños. When it came to choosing a side, I put complete faith into my co-workers and ordered the macaroni and cheese. I originally sat down with the intention of trying their fried okra, but the macaroni didn’t disappoint. Beware of its creaminess — I had to dig around to find noodles because it was so loaded with delicious, gooey cheese.

Macaroni and cheese

Just when I thought life couldn’t get any better, we all decided that dessert was a must. Now to save calories and money, the five of us chose to split a banana pudding. We each had a few spoonfuls, but I can’t lie — I could lick that cup of pudding dry all by my lonesome. I’ve never been a fan of banana pudding so believe me when I say that it is heaven. I seriously haven’t felt this infatuated by a dessert in a long time. Its creamy texture, chunks of banana and cookie crumble on top was perfection.

Banana pudding

Go to Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q. I’m ashamed that it took me this long to discover such BBQ goodness. If you don’t believe me, consult the hundreds of reviews online that say it’s Atlanta’s best BBQ spot.

Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q, 1238 Dekalb Ave, Atlanta

5 thoughts on “BBQ Heaven at Fox Bros. Bar-B-Q

  1. Pingback: Yeah! Burger « pamplemousse

  2. Pingback: 5 Best Things I Ate in 2012: U.S.A. Edition « pamplemousse

  3. Pingback: Atlanta Highlights « pamplemousse

  4. Pingback: What to feed your French boyfriend in America… | pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

