Loaf

Tucked away in an alleyway off of S. Elm St. in downtown Greensboro, you’ll find a carb haven called Loaf. It felt like I’d entered a secret passageway as I made my way to it and almost got knocked over by the intoxicating perfume of freshly baked bread and pastries.

Loaf Bakery in Greensboro

I can’t put into to words how lovely the atmosphere is at Loaf. Yes, I said lovely. As you walk in you’ll find a shelf of freshly baked breads (hence the name, Loaf) and a counter full of pastries, tarts and quiches. There is a quaint seating area next to a wall covered in community announcements and posters. Just beyond the counter you can see the bakers busy in the kitchen. The open, but small, size is inviting and intimate. I had about 10 minutes to make it to work but was lured to sit down and enjoy my croissant and coffee instead of rushing out…so I did.

Usually I’m not a fan of sweet things in the morning, but the almond croissant through the window was calling my name. Instead of a plain, small coffee, I opted for a cappuccino. As I was paying, my eyes became fixated on a plate of carrot cake whoopie pies next to the register, so I grabbed one of those as well. Then I made my way — by my lonesome — to one of the empty tables to enjoy my “brunch”.

Almond Croissant

I honestly haven’t had a croissant since I was in Paris two years ago. Maybe it’s because I became a French pastry brat, or maybe I ate one too many, but giving into the almond croissant from Loaf brought me back to the ol’ Parisian days. It almost looked too pretty to eat, but the almond and brown sugar filling on the inside was worth disheveling its flawless crust for.

Inside of Almond Croissant

Loaf offers more than your standard, French-inspired carb favorites. They have daily specials and exotic items too. I spied a Thai curry scone on the shelf, which unfortunately I didn’t think I could stomach so early in the day. But I was definitely intrigued and would love to try it. The whoopie pie hasn’t been devoured yet but since I got an early morning sugar high, I’ll most likely be splitting it among co-workers. Stay tuned for feedback on what I presume to be its deliciousness…

Loaf, 227 South Elm Street, Greensboro, NC

Leave a Reply

