Hibiscus on the Highline

The most perfect way to spend a beautiful, Saturday afternoon in NYC is to stroll along the High Line. For those of you who don’t know what it is, I think Wikipedia describes it best…

“The High Line is 1-mile New York City park built on a section of the former elevated freight railroad spur called the West Side Line, which runs along the lower west side of Manhattan; it has been redesigned and planted as an aerial greenway.”

Located only a few blocks from where I’ve been living, the High Line has always intrigued me yet I’d never actually walked across it until last Saturday. As the bright sun beat down on us, all I could think about was a cold, fruity treat to quench the heat.

And then it appeared out of nowhere; a popsicle cart on the High Line! La Newyorkina serves exotic Mexican ice flavors like coconut, papaya, lime, pineapple and hibiscus. The purple color of the hibiscus looked too tantalizing to pass up, so I bought one. It was a little too sweet of my taste (I don’t like overly-sugary things) but was definitely refreshing. The hot sun caused major melting action (not good for me, especially on the day I wear all white) but was worth every penny…

View of Empire State Building from the Highline

La NewYorkina popsicle cart

Menu

My hibiscus popsicle!

The beautiful Highline

Posted in NYC

Leave a Reply

