Take me out to the ball game…

…take me out with the crowd,
buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack,
I don’t care if I never get back!
Let me root, root, root for the home team,
if they don’t win it’s a shame.
For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out,
at the old ball game!

People don’t just come to watch anymore, they come to a baseball game to eat. Even the ole “Take me out to the ball game” anthem mentions some of the special stadium treats that we all love.

I love spending summer nights in Atlanta at Turner Field; tailgating, eating hotdogs and watching the Braves play. But Yankee Stadium was an entirely new ball game (no pun intended) for me. The biggest difference? Tailgating. There was no drinking beers or grilling out before the big game. Instead, we took the subway there and went right in. This meant we had to make up for lost time during the game’s rain delay.

One of the many food courts in Yankee Stadium

I tried to follow Jess’ advice of scoping out the food possibilities before settling on one but I just couldn’t. The Nathan’s hotdogs and crinkle fries were staring at me when we entered the food court, so I gave in. The hotdog was okay but bland in comparison to the ones at Turner Field that I smother with coleslaw and other lovely toppings. This one had three topping options: ketchup, mustard and relish. I made mine a “red dog” with a side of fries.

I’ve mentioned before that restaurants in NYC plaster the calorie content on menus. Well, they do it at the ball game too. I ignored the four-digit number next to the french fries…

The ranch pump made me the happiest girl at the stadium; there’s nothing better than crispy, crinkly fries with ranch! After I got my food with Kathleen, who got a hot dog, and Barrett, who ordered a corndog, we all decided to splurge on jumbo margaritas and daiquiris…

I wish I knew what the names of these cups are...

BIG mistake. Well, at least in my opinion. If there is even 0.01 ounce of alcohol in these drinks, I wouldn’t be surprised. Since I’d just made my way into the four-digit calorie category with my dinner, I decided that the overly-sugary margarita/daiquiri mixture might piss off my arteries. Believe it or not, I sold it for half-price to a random girl. I then proceeded to take my new money and bought a beer, which is what you should be drinking at a baseball game!

It turned out that Jess was right all along. Because she waited to make her dinner decision, she found Philly Cheesesteak. I thought I was going to cry when she showed off her hot and cheesy cheesesteak.  Right then and there,  Barrett and I decided to share one. Hello? I’m a food blogger, I couldn’t possibly pass up something that looked that good. Best decision of my life because it was AMAZING. Jess also made a wise investment in garlic fries. They were rather heavenly as well.

Jess with her cheesesteak

Garlic fries

For all of you anti-ballpark food people, Yankee Stadium made this lovely area just for you…

Fruit & veggie stand at Yankee Stadium

Posted in NYC

One thought on “Take me out to the ball game…

  1. those garlic fries look amazingg! i’m mad we didn’t get to go to a yankee game while i was there just because i missed out on those fries.

Leave a Reply

