Dim Sum: Chinese tapas

On Saturday, I got a true foodie experience: dim sum in Chinatown. For those of you who don’t know what dim sum is, think Chinese-style tapas. This afternoon tradition features delicacies like dumplings, rolls and other small plates.

I had my first dim sum experience in San Francisco when I was in middle school while visiting my sister, Molly. The Plyler family are huge fans of Chinese food — even eating at our favorite spot, China Moon, every Christmas Eve. So it isn’t surprising that Molly thought to take her 12-year-old sister to an adventurous Chinese lunch! All I remember about that afternoon were carts racing around the restaurant, coming to each table offering appetizer-size plates one after the other.

When my coworker, George, invited the interns out to a true New York dim sum lunch this past weekend, I couldn’t pass it up. So I grabbed EJ and we met everyone at the Nom Wah Tea Parlor in Chinatown. We sat down to a table full of steamed and fried concoctions.

The noms-fest started out great. I sampled vegetable dumplings and spring rolls. Unfortunately, to EJ and Cody’s dismay, our side of the table was dominated by shrimp, which they’re both allergic too. Therefore, I pretty much overdosed on shrimp until I couldn’t try anymore. A few people, however, insisted that I try a gluten-free fried sesame ball with red bean paste. This lotus paste wrapped with rice flour dough and rolled in sesame seeds was not my favorite. I think it was the texture inside that got to me, but if you like mildly sweet things, you’d probably love it. I was the only one at the table that didn’t!

I recommend spending a Saturday afternoon getting dim sum, especially at Nom Wah but until you go, here are some photos of my experience for you to live vicariously through…

(Thanks to Jenny for helping me remember the names of each item!)

Chive dumpling

Shrimp and bacon roll

Shrimp rice roll (steamed rice flour noodle with shrimp drizzled with sweet soy sauce)

Fried sesame ball with red bean paste Lotus paste (wrapped with rice flour dough and rolled in sesame seeds)

The "original" egg roll (chicken and mixed vegetables rolled in an egg crepe and fried with a homemade batter)

Sticky rice and pork in lotus leaf

Nom Wah Tea Parlor, 13 Doyers Street

Posted in NYC

3 thoughts on “Dim Sum: Chinese tapas

  1. I wish I could spend a week in NYC with you to visit all these places. I LOVE dim sum! Maybe we should go there next Saturday??

Leave a Reply

