Brooklyn: New York’s Food Haven

What better way to spend a beautiful Saturday afternoon than strolling around the Brooklyn Flea Market? ‘Twas my first adventure to Brooklyn and I must say that it’s by far my favorite place in NYC. The borough is Manhattan simplified. There are fewer people on the sidewalk, less noise and chaos and a more green-inspired, hipster, lazy-day vibe. The flea market was the best part. Imagine tent after tent of vintage clothes, one-of-a-kind furniture/housewares, local art, random trinkets and FOOD.

With little cash on me, I could only afford a mini red velvet cupcake (look for blog post later) and a fresh-squeezed lemonade. I did, however, take endless photos of the many food stands. With my favorite “food frand” E.J. coming to visit next weekend, I have no doubt I’ll be given another opportunity to dig into these unique concoctions. But for now, here are some pictures to give your palettes a little zing…

Maple bacon pecan cupcakes

Doughnuts

Asian-inspired hot dogs

This place served pickles on a stick

Long lines for food

Posted in NYC

Leave a Reply

