DC does red velvet

If you’ve been following my blog then you know that I’ve been on a mission this summer to find the best red velvet cupcake in the city. Since NYC hasn’t exactly blown me away yet, I decided to take the challenge to DC this past weekend…

Did I go to Georgetown Cupcake? No.

Why, you ask? Well, I love red velvet but I’m not about to wait in an hour-long line in the miserable heat for a cupcake. Sorry, not sorry. Instead, I took a tip from a local, my friend Grace, who suggested Baked & Wired — also located in Georgetown.

I almost couldn’t bare to order red velvet after looking over their menu at all the other mouth-watering flavors with clever names like:

  • The Unporked Elvis (banana cupcake topped with peanut butter frosting and chocolate drizzle)
  • Menage a trois (chocolate cake with cream cheese icing and raspberry filling)
  • Pretty Bitchin’ (chocolate cake with a crunchy peanut butter frosting)

Maybe I’ll try one next time because this time around I was on one mission: a red velvet mission. Here’s how Baked & Wired measured up to NYC:

  1. Presentation: 4
  2. Frosting: 5
  3. Cake: 4
  4. Red Velvet quality: 5
  5. “Wow” factor: 4

Total: 22/25

Looks like DC takes the cake (literally) on this challenge. Until I find something better in the Big Apple, DC might just win the red velvet race.

This cupcake was the real deal — cream cheese icing and all. It wasn’t just some fake red cupcake with white icing like some bakeries try to fool you with. This was red velvet in every sense of the recipe. The frosting was silky and cream cheesy while the cake was light and moist. Not to mention it was so big I had to eat it with a fork!

Leave a Reply

