a mid-afternoon snack

 

This past weekend I left NYC for our nation’s capital: Washington D.C. I was so excited to be visiting my friend Grace that I forgot about the food possibilities in store. It hit me when I arrived that I was about to spend the weekend with one of my “food frands” — friends I like to eat with. Grace Trilling’s food credentials include killing a Cookout tray in roughly 0.5 seconds. (If you are unfamiliar with N.C.’s greatest drive-thru, Cookout, click here.) Needless to say, I knew I’d be eating something blog-worthy.

On Saturday afternoon, we ventured into Georgetown to walk around, shop and eat. Since we had a late breakfast, we wanted to munch on some appetizers to tie us over until dinner. Grace and Libby took me to J. Pauls, a “dining saloon”. What looked like a typical food joint turned out to be so much more.

I was sold the second they brought out free corn muffins. I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I am head-over-heels in love with corn. Corn chowder and corn fritters are among some of my favorite treats. These muffins didn’t disappoint either. Bite-size with butter on the side, they left me in a food coma before we even ordered.

Like I said, the three of us decided to share an array of appetizers. Healthy definitely wasn’t a part of this equation as we gravitated toward the chicken nachos, with guacamole, sour cream, pico de gallo, chipotle chicken, black beans and poblano peppers; cheeseburger sliders, topped with grilled onions, cheddar and jack cheeses, mustard, thousand island dressing, pickles and crispy chips; and smoked gouda macaroni and cheese.

I had medium expectations since what we ordered seemed pretty difficult to screw up. J. Paul’s set the bar high. Now, unfortunately, nachos, sliders and mac and cheese everywhere have major competition…located in Georgetown. I left the restaurant happily pregnant with a food baby…

 

One thought on “a mid-afternoon snack

Leave a Reply

