Yo-makin’-me-crazy

One fad that has become a staple to American gastro-culture? Frozen yogurt a.k.a. the “healthy” kind.

I’m guilty of it too; flocking to YoZone, LoYo, Yoforia, Yogurtland, Yogli Mogli and the likes on the regular. First came Jujubees for me in Atlanta, then came all of the “yo” stores that miraculously made its way down to Burlington, N.C. I want to say yogurt is the new cupcake craze but unlike cupcakes, this one just keeps trending.

Since moving to NYC this summer, I’ve discovered Pinkberry. Well not really “discovered”, more like finally tried the place that started this hip yogurt obsession. I remember the first time I heard about the place and I’m pretty sure most girls in America share the same memory from The Hills, starring Lauren Conrad. She frequented the spot in Los Angeles and because she was doing it, everybody else decided to as well.

Pinkberry has yet to lose its fan base as the line is almost constantly out the door. It has definitely lived up to its hype, but honestly what’s the difference? I order the same thing that I’ve gotten at twelve other yogurt places and it all tastes the same. Even the fruit quality amazes me because its all fresh from North Carolina to NYC.

What I really want to know is if this stuff is actually healthy. I understand lots of places use organic ingredients…big whoop. Organic doesn’t mean healthy. It means organic. And the smidgen of fat in a cup of froyo still has sugar…like regular yogurt. Here are the facts:

1 serving (cup) of original flavor yogurt from Pinkberry (according to website):

  • Calories: 100
  • Fat: 0 g
  • Cholesterol: 5 mg
  • Sodium: 50 mg
  • Carbs: 21 g
  • Fiber: 0 g
  • Sugar: 20 g
  • Protein: 3 g
  • Calcium: 10% DV

Interesting. You be the judge. It’s better than soft-serve from Baskin Robbins, but hey, just because there isn’t any fat, doesn’t mean it’s not full of sugar. I’m still going to treat myself to my original with blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and kiwi, but maybe less frequently.

Leave a Reply

