CP’s “Flat”-Out Good Pizza

I made the greatest discovery this week at Harris Teeter: flatbread. I typically duck the bakery aisle, but this time I decided to cart through. When I spotted a bag of Flatout flatbread, I couldn’t resist. The moment I locked eyes on it I began envisioning the endless possibilities…

Round #1: CP’s “Flat”out Good Pizza

I originally got the idea from the suggestion on the packaging for flatbread pizza. With just 100 calories per piece, it seemed genius and healthy. I’m a fan of just throwing random ingredients together and flatbread, I thought, would be the perfect canvas for a delicious creation.

Ingredients:

  • 1 piece of flatbread
  • Zucchini
  • Red bell pepper
  • Pesto spread
  • Goat cheese
  • Chicken breast (*marinated ahead of time)

Recipe:

  1. Preheat oven to 350º
  2. Cut up chicken breast into small pieces (or strips) and grill on stove-top skillet until cooked thoroughly
  3. Grill chopped zucchini (in rounds) and bell pepper in skillet for 5-10 minutes with olive oil
  4. Place flatbread on oven rack and heat for 3 minutes on each side
  5. Once flatbread is heated, spread approximately 2 tbsp of pesto and distribute vegetables, goat cheese and chicken on pizza
  6. Place pizza on ovenrack (no baking sheet) and cook until desired look (about 10 minutes)
  7. Bon appetit!
*For a recipe like this, I marinate my chicken breast in a simple Italian or balsamic vinaigrette dressing for about 5 hours. This prevents the chicken from overpowering the other flavors of this recipe.
More flatbread creations to come…
One thought on “CP’s “Flat”-Out Good Pizza

  1. Pingback: Pita pocket-ful of sunshine « pamplemousse

Leave a Reply

